01
Jul
10

Speedpoets

Last month I read for the first time at the June Speedpoets gig at the Inspire Gallery. It was both daunting and exhilarating and I’d like to practise reading my work more often. I was joined by my son who also stepped up during the open mic to read his poem “I am a Pirate Boy”. I read “Postcard”, and my poem “Wet Season” appeared in the June zine. Many thanks to Graham Nunn for publishing my work.

Postcard

I would write you
an elegy about love
if I could transcribe the way
your hands would curl silence
around reason, or lend the planes of your
body to eyes, to move over the Braille of me
or then, how your choice would spawn acidity
over sublimation and the wait for perfect ellipses,
because it was the simplest piece for you to play
and even later, when it’s all down on paper
the only surety that can be written is fortune;
so instead I’ll fold these lovers’ notes tiny
and affix them to the top left of you.

0 Responses to “Speedpoets”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 8,419 hits

Subscribe to The Worded Page

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

