26
Aug
11

‘The lost art of penning you a love note’ is named a runner-up at the 2011 Arts Queensland Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize

I am both thrilled and honoured to be named as a runner-up in this prestigious competition, named after the great Queensland poet Thomas Shapcott. The announcement was made last night as part of opening night festivities for he 2011 Queensland Poetry Festival. I was delighted to meet two of the judges, Felicity Plunkett and Justin Clemens who had some lovely things to say about my collection, and some wonderful advice. I am now seeking a publisher for the collection so I can eventually get it out there for everyone to read. Thank you to all my friends and supporters for helping to keep me motivated.

4 Responses to “‘The lost art of penning you a love note’ is named a runner-up at the 2011 Arts Queensland Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize”


  1. August 27, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    Vanessa, I was delighted to hear your name mentioned for the Shapcott. Congratulations! Will you be at the Judy tomorrow?

  2. 2 vanessapage
    August 27, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    Hi John…thanks very much! Unfortunately the QPF and my free weekends did not match up this year, which is sad as there was so much I would have liked to have seen and experienced! The joys of single parenthood 🙂 Hope the festival has gone well. Maybe next year for me!

  3. 3 gnunn
    September 4, 2011 at 1:23 am

    So well deserved Vanessa… look forward to holiding a copy in my hands.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 8,326 hits

Subscribe to The Worded Page

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

