11
Oct
13

October updates…

It has been a little while since my last blog post and I guess the poetry community has been coming to terms with and moving on from the recent poetry plagiarism scandal, which sadly embroiled two of our own Brisbane poets. I think plenty has been said about these issues so I won’t add too much other than to say that I do abhor plagiarism and would be completely devastated if anyone stole lines, stanzas or work from me. I work too hard on my poems to have an other viewpoint and I guess it is easy to borrow – but takes a little more character and skill to sit down with a blank page and start from there.

But that being said, on to other happenings!

Wooloowin SS reading

Last month’s school fete reading was very enjoyable and I was thrilled to introduce a new audience to the beauty of poetry. Copies of the book were for sale and I also donated a signed copy for the raffle and the reception was just fantastic. The highlight for me was being introduced to the stage by my 11 year old son – who did an outstanding job!

IMG_20130915_105144

Little Albany Cafe

One of the non-negotiables of a ‘temporarily’ stay-at-home Mum with a five month old and three other children of school age to ferry around is the morning ritual of coffee! My friends at the Little Albany Cafe have helped out with this necessity of life and have not only satiated my morning school run coffee needs but have kindly placed a copy of ‘Confessional Box’ on display. A big thanks to them for their support and their excellent coffee.

IMG_20131010_081441

Ipswich Poetry Feast

Entering the Ipswich International Poetry competition has become something of a ritual for me and I’m excited to share that I have again been successful at these awards – more on that after the awards ceremony on 18 October. I also picked up a copy of the commemorative book released by the committee which includes my poem ‘Limestone Park’ and many other great poems.

21 QLD Poets

This Saturday 12 October I will be joining 20 other local poets for an evening of poetry at the Little Price Espresso dress circle. From 7pm we will be reading poems by other Queensland poets and paying homage to our state’s great poetic history. Given recent events, this is a great opportunity for our community to come together in celebration. I will be reading poems from the amazing Jean Kent on the night – well it had to be a fellow Darling Downs poet!

 

 

0 Responses to “October updates…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 8,326 hits

Subscribe to The Worded Page

October 2013
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

