28
Nov
14

China Bull shortlisted for the Whitmore Prize and other news

China Bull co-author John Koenig and I are very pleased to share that we have been shortlisted for this year’s Whitmore Prize.

There are some wonderful poets on the shortlisted, so it feels great to be in such good company. China Bull is a special piece of work and close to my heart as it is based on the true story of my great grandmother Annie Caroline. Everywhere JK and I have performed the work it has been well received, so it is great that it’s able to connect with audiences just as strongly on the page.

You can read the full shortlist here. The winner will be announced any tick of the clock.

In other news, I received my copy of the latest Page Seventeen, in which my poem ‘Bellarine Machines’ appears and also my copy of the Grapple Annual, in which my Toowoomba flavoured poem ‘Hunting Season 4350’ appears. Always feels great to come home and find new poetry to read.

This week I also got along to a new open mic event on the north side, and the very cool Cardigan Bar at Sandgate. This month, the gig was hosted by Matt Hetherington and we were treated to two 15 minute sets of his work, along with a bit of open mic in between. It was great to catch up with some of the crew who got along – Melissa Jeffreys, Fiona Privitera, and Tony Mutton. Here’s hoping it becomes a regular event on the calendar. If you live Brisbane north side, I encourage you to come along and see what it’s all about.

And finally, today I take to the Speedpoets stage to battle it out with the other Call Back Poets for the year at the annual Speedpoets Open Mic Championships at the Lucky Duck, Highgate Hill from 2pm. I was lucky enough to be chosen as the Call-Back Poet for May and I’m planning on reading some pieces from the China Bull manuscript. More info is on the Speedpoets website.

0 Responses to “China Bull shortlisted for the Whitmore Prize and other news”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 8,559 hits

Subscribe to The Worded Page

November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

